Our People

Our People Make Us Great!

Board of Directors

United Way of Newfoundland and Labrador is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors. This group of community leaders oversees and monitors all decisions and performance aspects of the organization. Through a collaborative approach, these volunteers work on various committees to ensure United Way of Newfoundland and Labrador continues to fulfill its mission.

2019-2020 Board of Directors

Past Chair: Joe Browne

Image 2 of 12

Retired RNC Chief

Chair:   Jacqui Winter, Owner and Principal Consultant at HR Project Partners Inc.

Past Chair:  Joseph Browne, Retired RNC Chief

Vice Chair:  Ryan Belbin, Lawyer at O’Dea Earle

Treasurer:  Stephanie Normore, Director of Special Projects, Woodward Group of Companies

Chair, Community Investment Committee:  Supt Patrick Roche, Royal Newfoundland Constabulary

Chair, Marketing & Communications Committee:  Peggy Miller, Manager of Marketing & Analysis, Centre for Innovation in Teaching & Learning at Memorial University of Newfoundland

Director:  Erin Manning, Manager, Finance & Administration (Division of Marketing and Communications) at Memorial University of Newfoundland

Director:  Amy McCarthy, Senior HR Consultant at HR Project Partners Inc.

Director/Labrador Representative:  Geoff Goodyear, photographer, photo educator, writer, helicopter pilot, volunteer

Director/Labour Appointee (St. John’s & District Labour Council):  Lisa Williams, Financial Officer, Service NL

Director/Central NL Representative:  Kathy Oake, Court Officer, Provincial Court Grand Falls -Windsor

Director:  Douglas Pawson, Executive Director, End Homelessness St. John’s 


Past Chairs 

Fifteen years ago Mark Brown started in earnest his work to establish United Way in our province. It took him a few years, but he did it. In 2005, United Way of Avalon launched. In 2009, we became United Way of Newfoundland & Labrador. Mark was Founding Chair, and is now a member of our Past Chairs Council, a group that works to ensure we remember our past as we forge our future. To recognize his efforts and the longevity of his involvement with United Way, we have established The Mark Brown Community Builder Award. This award serves to recognize an individual who works to build stronger and more resilient communities through their volunteer engagement with United Way and the community in general.

Founding Chair Mark Brown (2005-2007)

Image 1 of 7


In every non profit and charitable organization, there is a dedicated team that works together tirelessly to help make our communities stronger. United Way Newfoundland & Labrador is no different. With a small team of just four employees (1 Full Time/3 Part Time) there is a collective 24 years experience with helping make Newfoundland & Labrador great for everyone. Our team believes in our work to help fight poverty; improve community health and to ensure that we all have access to the services and programs that will lead to stronger healthier communities.

Katie Greene

Executive Director

Email: katie.greene@nl.unitedway.ca

Telephone: 1 (709) 753-9888

Nicole Eales

Finance Officer

Email: Nicole.Eales@nl.unitedway.ca

Telephone:  1 (709) 753-0583

Lisa Marie-Fifield

Campaign Coordinator

Email:  Lisa-Marie.Fifield@nl.unitedway.ca

Telephone: 1 (709) 753-8289

Jennifer Konechny

Office Administrator

Email:  Jennifer.Konechny@nl.unitedway.ca

Telephone:  1 (709) 753-1628