Our People

Our People Make Us Great!



In every non profit and charitable organization, there is a dedicated team that works together tirelessly to help make our communities stronger. United Way Newfoundland & Labrador is no different. With a small team of just four employees there is a collective 25 years experience with helping make Newfoundland & Labrador great for everyone. Our team believes in our work to help fight poverty, improve community health, and to ensure that we all have access to the services and programs that will lead to stronger, healthier communities.

Lisa Marie-Fifield

Executive Director

Email: lisa-marie.fifield@nl.unitedway.ca

Telephone:  1 (709) 753-8289

Nicole Eales

Director of Finance and General Operations

Email: nicole.eales@nl.unitedway.ca

Telephone:  1 (709) 753-0583


Jan Grace

Office Administrator

Email: janet.grace@nl.unitedway.ca

Telephone: 1 (709) 753-8288

Kimberly Leonard

211 Director of Community Engagement and Outreach

Email: kimberly.leonard@nl.unitedway.ca

Telephone: 1 (709) 753-8288



Board of Directors

United Way of Newfoundland and Labrador is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors. This group of community leaders oversees and monitors all decisions and performance aspects of the organization. Through a collaborative approach, these volunteers work on various committees to ensure United Way of Newfoundland and Labrador continues to fulfill its mission.

2023-2024 Board of Directors

Chair: Douglas Pawson

Image 1 of 11

Executive Director, End Homelessness St. John's

Chair:  Douglas Pawson, Executive Director, End Homelessness, St. John’s NL

Past Chair: Ryan Belbin, Lawyer, O’Dea Earle, St. John’s NL

Treasurer: Rhonda Caldwell, Realtor, Remax

Director – Labrador Region:  Geoff Goodyear, Helicopter pilot (Ret), Universal Helicopters

Director – Labrador Region:  Shaun MacLean, Policy Analyst, Government of NL

Director – Avalon Region: Mark Brown, RCMP (Ret)

Director – Avalon Region: LeighAnne O’Neill

Director – Avalon Region: Andrew Warren, Royal Newfoundland Constabulary

Director – Avalon Region: Danny Hong

Director – Avalon Region: Lindsey Hynes, Manager, Vibrant Communities, Community Sector Council

Director – Avalon Region: Curtis Whelan, Project Assurance Manager, Growler Energy

Director – Avalon Region: Simone Lilly, Director of Community Investment, End Homelessness, NL

Past Chairs 

Fifteen years ago Mark Brown started in earnest his work to establish United Way in our province. It took him a few years, but he did it. In 2005, United Way of Avalon launched. In 2009, we became United Way of Newfoundland & Labrador. Mark was Founding Chair, and is now a member of our Past Chairs Council, a group that works to ensure we remember our past as we forge our future. To recognize his efforts and the longevity of his involvement with United Way, we have established The Mark Brown Community Builder Award. This award serves to recognize an individual who works to build stronger and more resilient communities through their volunteer engagement with United Way and the community in general.

Ryan Belbin (2020-2022)

Image 8 of 8

Lawyer, O'Dea Earl